Committees > Education

The mission of the Education Committee:

  • Plan education programs for OMFOA's annual Fall Institute and Spring Conference.
  • Plan regional training programs targeted towards smaller jurisdictions and offered at convenient locations throughout the state.
  • Work with other committees or serve in a liaison role including Emerging Issues, Accounting Standards, Information Technology and Certification to facilitate their involvement with the Institute, Spring Conference and regional trainings.

OMFOA welcomes both regular and associate members to the Education Committee.  Typical activities include:  participation in two to three committee meetings during the year to help plan programs for the Fall Institute and Spring Conference; serving as a session monitor and/or moderator during the events; volunteering as a speaker; and helping to plan and suggest program content and speakers for regional trainings.

Most importantly, OMFOA asks members of the Education Committee to offer thier creative ideas in suggesting innovative topics of interest to the membership and to keep an eye out for programs and great speakers.


 

Committee Chair:

Michelle Hawkins, Linn County
mhawkins@co.linn.or.us

Board Liason

Cathy Brucker, Tualatin Hills Parks & Reccbrucker@thprd.com
 

Members:

Juana Bell, City of Bandon
jrbell35@hotmail.com
 
Suzanne Linneen, City of Hillsboro
suzannel@ci.hillsboro.or.us
 
 Jonas Biery, City of Portland
Jonas.Biery@portlandoregon.gov
Susan Luce, Multnomah County
susan.m.luce@multco.us

Gloria Butsch, City of Independence
gbutsch@hotmail.com
 
Lori Martin, City of LaPine
lmartin@ci.la-pine.or.us

 
Tammy Canady, City of Grants Pass
tcanady@grantspassoregon.gov
 
Karimeh McDaniel, Morgan Keegan
karimeh.mcdaniel@morgankeegan.com

Sharon Capizzo
Scappizo@columbiabank.com
 
Gulgun Mersereau
GMersereau@hawkins.com
Jennifer Cuellar, Columbia County
Jennifer.Cuellar@co.columbia.or.us
 
Christine Reynolds, Orrick Herrington & Sutcliffe, LLP
cereynolds@orrick.com
 
Sue Cutsogeorge, City of Eugene
Sue.L.Cutsogeorge@ci.eugene.or.us
 
Carol Samuels, Seattle-Northwest Securities Corp.
csamuels@snwsc.com
Courtney Dausz, Mersereau Shannon LLP
cdausz@mershanlaw.com
 
Katie Schwab, Wedbush Morgan Securities
katie.schwab@wedbush.com
Roger Dawes, Washington County
Roger_Dawes@co.washington.or.us
 

Monica Steele, Clatsop County
msteele@co.clatsop.or.us

Christina Day, Portland Community College
christina.day1@pcc.edu
 
Nikolai J. Sklaroff
nikolai.j.sklaroff@wellsfargo.com
 
  Debbie Smith-Wagar, City of Tigard
debbies@tigard-or.gov
 

Douglas Gabbard, FCS Group
dougg@fcsgroup.com

Tiane Soulatha, US Bank
tiane.soulatha@usbank.com
 

Mindy Harris, SST Benefits Consulting
mindyharris@sstbenefits.com

Heidi Starks, West Slope Water District
hstarks@wswd.org
Samina Gillum, City of Portland
sgillum@PortlandOregon.gov
Laurie Steele, Marion County
lsteele@co.marion.or.us
 
Marc Gonzales, Clackamas County
marcg@co.clackamas.or.us
 

 

Mary Gruss, Washington County
mary_gruss@co.washington.or.us
 
Geoff Urbina, KeyBank Capital Markets
geoff_a_urbina@keybanccm.com
 

 
Jeff White, Marion County
jdwhite@co.marion.or.us

 

Matt Herb, KeyBank
matthew_p_herb@keybank.com

Lisa Young, City of Sandy
lyoung@ci.sisters.or.us
 

 
Matt Zook, City of Damascus
mzook@damascusoregon.gov
 
Brian Kennedy, Metro
brian.kennedy@oregonmetro.gov
Misty Slagle, OMFOA/Western Advocates Inc.
misty@westernadvocates.com

 

 

image

 
image