Committees > Education

The mission of the Education Committee:

  • Plan education programs for OMFOA's annual Fall Institute and Spring Conference.
  • Plan regional training programs targeted towards smaller jurisdictions and offered at convenient locations throughout the state.
  • Work with other committees or serve in a liaison role including Emerging Issues, Accounting Standards, Information Technology and Certification to facilitate their involvement with the Institute, Spring Conference and regional trainings.

OMFOA welcomes both regular and associate members to the Education Committee.  Typical activities include:  participation in two to three committee meetings during the year to help plan programs for the Fall Institute and Spring Conference; serving as a session monitor and/or moderator during the events; volunteering as a speaker; and helping to plan and suggest program content and speakers for regional trainings.

Most importantly, OMFOA asks members of the Education Committee to offer thier creative ideas in suggesting innovative topics of interest to the membership and to keep an eye out for programs and great speakers.


Committee Chair:

Michelle Hawkins, Linn County

Board Liason

Cathy Brucker, Tualatin Hills Parks &


Juana Bell, City of Bandon
Suzanne Linneen, City of Hillsboro
 Jonas Biery, City of Portland
Susan Luce, Multnomah County

Gloria Butsch, City of Independence
Lori Martin, City of LaPine

Tammy Canady, City of Grants Pass
Karimeh McDaniel, Morgan Keegan

Sharon Capizzo
Gulgun Mersereau
Jennifer Cuellar, Columbia County
Christine Reynolds, Orrick Herrington & Sutcliffe, LLP
Sue Cutsogeorge, City of Eugene
Carol Samuels, Seattle-Northwest Securities Corp.
Courtney Dausz, Mersereau Shannon LLP
Katie Schwab, Wedbush Morgan Securities
Roger Dawes, Washington County

Monica Steele, Clatsop County

Christina Day, Portland Community College
Nikolai J. Sklaroff
  Debbie Smith-Wagar, City of Tigard

Douglas Gabbard, FCS Group

Tiane Soulatha, US Bank

Mindy Harris, SST Benefits Consulting

Heidi Starks, West Slope Water District
Samina Gillum, City of Portland
Laurie Steele, Marion County
Marc Gonzales, Clackamas County


Mary Gruss, Washington County
Geoff Urbina, KeyBank Capital Markets

Jeff White, Marion County


Matt Herb, KeyBank

Lisa Young, City of Sandy

Matt Zook, City of Damascus
Brian Kennedy, Metro
Misty Slagle, OMFOA/Western Advocates Inc.