Committees > Legislative & Emerging Issues

 

The mission of the Legislative & Emerging Issues Committee

  • Monitor local, state and federal issues of importance to the OGFOA membership and public finance profession.
  • Function as source of information to the OGFOA Board of Directors and committees in setting priority issues for education, outreach, and research.
  • Function as a source of information (but not as an advocate) to lobbying groups (LOC, AOC, SDAO, SBOA) on governmental finance issues/concerns.
  • Promote the active participation Legislative & Emerging Committee members as conference speakers and contributors to other outreach efforts including newsletters, website postings, “call for action” emails and special projects.
  • Coordinate efforts with partner organizations and associations on topics of mutual interest.
  • Serve as a pool of subject matter experts to review or become involved with policy issues as requested by the Board or as otherwise appropriate.
  • Coordinate with partner organizations and associations on topics of mutual interest.
  • Develop and implement communication mechanisms to quickly disperse information to OGFOA members when an emerging issue needs timely information sharing.

Committee Activities

  • Quarterly conference calls coordinated by the chairs:
  • Meet at the annual Fall and/or Spring Conferences (in lieu of quarterly conference call).
  • Participate on other committees particularly Education, Accounting Standards, Information Technology, and Developing Professionals.
  • Regular communication to the Board of Directors to help set policy priorities.
  • Regular communication with the OGFOA President and Board Liaison for any matters requiring more urgent attention.

 

Committee Co-Chairs      
Nancy Brewer City of Corvallis nancy.brewer@corvallisoregon.gov  
Carol  Samuels Piper Jaffray & Co. carol.e.samuels@pjc.com  
         
Board Liasion      
Tod Burton Tualatin Valley Water District tod.burton@tvwd.org

 

    Agency Email Expiration
Carla Atwood Water Environment Services carlaAtw@co.clackamas.or.us  
Linda Carter City of Pendleton linda.carter@ci.pendleton.or.us 2017
Lance Colley City of Roseburg lcolley@cityofroseburg.org 2017
Courtney Dausz Mersereau Shannon cdausz@mershanlaw.com 2017
Roger Dawes Washington County roger_dawes@co.washington.or.us 2017
Chris Fick Multnomah County chris.fick@multco.us 2017
Debra Guzman Tualatin Valley Fire and Rescue debra.guzman@tvfr.com 2017
Don Hudson City of Tualatin dhudson@ci.tualatin.or.us 2017
Wendy Johnson League of Oregon Cities wjohnson@orcities.org 2017
Jason Link Klamath County jlink@co.klamath.or.us 2017
Wayne Lowry Deschutes County wayne.lowry@deschutes.org 2017
Marc Marc Gonzales Clackamas County marcgon@co.clackamas.or.us 2017
Gulgun Mersereau Hawkins, Delafield & Wood  gmersereau@hawkins.com 2017
Rob Moody Talbot Korvola & Warwick rmoody@tkw.com 2017
Chris Reynolds Orrick Herrington & Sutcliffe  cereynolds@orrick.com 2017
Summer Sears City of Hood River s.sears@ci.hood-river.or.us  2017
Heidi Starks West Slope Water District hstarks@wswd.org 2017
Monica Steele Clatsop County msteele@co.clatsop.or.us 2017
Jeff White Marion County jdwhite@co.marion.or.us 2017
Sharon Wojda City of Bend swojda@bendoregon.gov  

 

image

 
image